Saturday, 28 January 2012

SHAPE III. Polygons


1. Triangle: It is a polygon with three sides and three angles. The three angles always add 180º.
  • Equilateral Triangle: Three equal sides and three equal angles, always 60º.
  • Isosceles Triangle: Two equal sides and two equal angles.
  • Scalene Triangle: No equal sides and no equal angles.

2. Quadrilateral. Quadrilateral just means “four sides”. Therefore, any four sided shape is a quadrilateral, but the sides have to be straight, and it has to be 2 dimensional.
  • Square: Four equal sides. Four equal angles, always 90°.
  • Rectangle: Opposite sides are parallel and of equal length. Four equal angles, always 90°.
  • Rhombus: Four equal sides. Opposite angles are parallel.
3. Regular polygons with more than 4 sides:
  • A pentagon is a 5-sided polygon.
  • An hexagon is a 6-sided polygon.
  • An heptagon is a 7-sided polygon.
  • An octagon is a 8-sided polygon.
 4. Star a plane figure with 5 or more points.

After reading the post and watching the video play the Geometric Game to test your knowledge on polygons.

1 comment:

  1. I think at the time math is very difficult subject, parents should help kids in solving math problems. I want to share a simple definition of 12 sided polygon as-12 sided polygon is called as dodecagon, This is one type of regular polygons, it may be regular or irregular. It's a 12 sided closed figure.
    How to Find the Volume of a Sphere